Cultural Edge

Quaker Center-page-001

I (Mike) was on Google Earth the other day to ‘walk’ down Mt. Eden Road, the street of the Quaker meetinghouse in Auckland and where we shall live for a year. Cultural and generational edges came to the fore.

I grew up in Torquay on the southwest coast of England and a similarly temperate climate to North Island. And here, on Google Earth, was not only the layout of the streets familiar from many years ago, including how sidewalks (pavements) and road markings were laid out, but there were the palm trees as well.

We have heard many say that NZ is a throw back to Britain of the 50s (which quite frankly made be shudder–do they still have rationing?) but in these images it definitely threw me back to where I spent the first 17 years of my life. I did not find Quakers until Marsha took me to my first meeting at the age of 20, so here is Quakerism meeting my childhood in a mind acculturated to the U.S. And on top of that weighs the old empire, colonialism in a country that still wrestles with its own indigenous culture of the Maori. There is not one edge here to walk but a wealth of edges, real and imaginary.

About M&M_Green

Owners
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cultural Edge

  1. Bonnie N Raphael says:

    I’m counting the days until your departure along with you. What adventures lie ahead! I wish you a safe journey and many happy times. I envy the fact that you’ll be far away from all the heartbreaking nonsense that’s going on in the USA right now. Sending a giant hug.
    Luv, Bonnie

    Like

Leave a comment